SkirtsAfire is a theatre and multidisciplinary arts organization that features the work and creations of women and non-binary artists in Edmonton. SkirtsAfire creates a platform for the stories of Canadian Women to be shared via theatre, music, dance, visual art, comedy, spoken word, and more. Our 10 days is a place where artists and enthusiasts come together to experience entertaining performances and thought provoking exhibits. SkirtsAfire is heading into its ninth year after its debut in 2013. Celebrating more than 100 artists annually and reaching over 5000 audience members in the last 2 incarnations, this festival continues to grow year after year.

New for 2021, and in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we are excited to be partnering with the Old Strathcona Business Association and their local businesses to display our Skirt Designs around Whyte Avenue. This year, the winners will also be chosen by public vote! Stay tuned for more details coming soon.

The first skirt was designed and built for SkirtsAfire in 2013. It became the Official Skirt that year, and was proudly featured in the Nina Art Gallery for the duration of the programming. In 2014, we opened up the Official Skirt design as a competition in order to expand and allow for the ability to showcase more than one designer each year.

We value diversity in the women we represent and therefore welcome women artists of all diverse backgrounds including trans women, self-identifying women, non-binary people, the 2SLGBTQIA+ community, all ethnicities, and all abilities.


Submissions are now closed for SkirtsAfire 2021. Call for submissions for 2022’s competition will open in fall 2021. Sign up for our newsletter to be the first to know!

Questions? Please contact


2019’s Skirt Designs by (from left to right) Fakhra Abrar, David Cameron, Treasa Webb, Kelly Johner, Jane Kline and Kim Neeser. Photo by Gallican Buki.

“Sustenance” by Amanda Brown, Skirt Design Competition 2018 Winner. Photo by April MacDonald Killins.

“Sustenance” by Amanda Brown, Skirt Design Competition 2018 Winner. Photo by April MacDonald Killins.

2018’s Skirt Designs by (from left to right) Melissa Squire, Lorraine Dezman, Caroline Amaral, Kim Neeser and Karin Lauderdale. Photos by April MacDonald Killins.

2017 Skirt Design Competition Winner, "The Shape of Me," designed by Jane Kline. Photography by Keanna Hiebert.

“The Shape of Me” by Jane Kline, Skirt Design Competition 2017 Winner. Photo by Keanna Hiebert.