Above art by Michelle Lavoie, Jennie Vegt & Marlena Wyman

In/Hospitable Women

March 6 – 12 | The Nina Haggerty Gallery (9225 118 Avenue)

The gallery will be open from 10:00am – 2:00pm March 6 – 10 and during SkirtsAfire events March 9 – 12.

Curated by Mary Joyce, this show at the Nina Haggerty Gallery displays art by powerful local female artists. The show opens to the public March 6, and you are invited to view the incredible exhibit in style at our Opening Ceremonies of SkirtsAfire on March 9th at 5:00pm in the gallery with live entertainment, the Official Skirt Cutting Ceremony, and delicious food and drinks.

Women who love art enough to want to make it have to make hard choices that allow them time for their work. Traditionally, women are hosts of their children from conception onwards, for their husbands, for their parents, for their friends, for household livestock, feeding, washing, medicating, teaching, entertaining. Only love makes it sensible. Certain guests might find a woman who wishes to be an artist lacking in hospitality. Visitors such as flocks of birds, oil wells, a divine embryo, explorer-colonizer-thieves of culture, penetrations of invisible electronic global information, and pressure to stay traditionally “grounded” get beautiful, thoughtful examination in this show.

Featured Artists:

Marlena Wyman, www.marlenawyman.com

Lana Whiskeyjack, www.lanawhiskeyjack.ca 

Jennie Vegt, www.jennievegt.com

Lynn Malin, www.lynnmalin.com

Michelle Lavoie, www.greatbearframes.com/michelle-lavoie.html

Sherri Chaba, www.sherrichaba.com

Bonnie Blackburn, info@thenina.com

All events by donation!